How many Asian languages do you speak?

KenW

OK here's a thread that's eminently ignorable. Never mind. I'm interested in the issue, given that in my village - where quite a few expats reside - very few foreigners speak VNese at any serious level.

I started it, so I make the call: I'm not interested in your excellent Spanish, or your first language Scottish (if there is such a thing?) - let's confine it to Asia.

Even if you speak not a word, I'd like you to reply, saying so. No negativities implied. I'm simply curious that's all.

I'll make the first move (prawn to Ken 4): I speak a few sentences and words of Japanese. I studied it for a semester about a decade ago, but since I have not yet been to Japan and have no daily use for it, it is almost all forgotten.

Twenty odd years ago I studied Bahasa Indonesia for 3 terms. Went to that country quite a bit. Spoke with some conversational competence. Now mostly forgotten too, but if/when I re-visit a lot will come flooding back.

I speak Vietnamese also at conversational level. I can read and write too, but nothing heavy as my vocab is limited.

• Upvote 2

After all my years traveling to Thailand Mr. Watanabe I have learned to say hello and thank you...I am still working diligently on goodbye...That's seems to be the hardest for me to learn...

In truth I am horrible with languages including my own...I lack the memory skills and now the hearing skills to attempt to learn any language especially Asian tonal languages and find myself in my own country constantly saying, "Pardon me."

• Upvote 1

Unless Spanish is recognized as an Asian language, my official tally will remain at 0. Like Kuhn Kahuna I am able to say a few words and phrases, but can just as easily say "that tastes good" when I'm meaning to say "you are very beautiful" and vice versa, leading to all sorts of hilarity at my expense.

• Upvote 1